LECTURE: Turkish architects and the Aga Khan Award


“Thinking The Edge” in collaboration with “Metropolitan Architecture”


Murat Tabanlioglu “Between Architetture and Urbanisme”
Han Tumertekin “The Scale of Architecture”
Moderator: Luca Molinari
Scientific reference and coordinator: Paolo Belloni

Venue: Politecnico di Milano, Facoltà di Architettura e Società, Aula Rogers
Date & time: Thursday 30th January 2014, 14.30

After graduating from IEL, studied architecture at Vienna Technical University, graduating in 1992. He founded Tabanlıoğlu Architects with Dr. Hayati Tabanlıoğlu in Istanbul in 1990. He lectures at universities and international events. domain server Besides his atelier program at Bilgi University, he lectures at universities and various international platforms and serves as a juror at academic programs and competitions. Murat Tabanlıoğlu is a Chartered Member of RIBA.

Mr. Tabanlıoğlu’s recent works comprise of a wide range of building types, including Levent Loft & Loft Gardens and Kanyon (with Arup and Jerde); Sapphire, the tallest residential building in Europe; the Zorlu Center (with EAA); Istanbul’s Galataport; the Istanbul Modern museum; the Media Center for CNN Turk and Channel D; office buildings such as ESAS HQ and Selçuk Ecza HQ; the Palace of Peace (with Foster+Partners) and the Astana Arena in Kazakhstan; public projects such as the Sipopo Congress Center in Malabo, Equatorial Guinea; hotels and summer resorts on the Croatian and Turkish coasts; the E5, Marmara Forum and M1Meydan shopping mall projects; industrial buildings like the Tunacelik and Nova factories; and renovation projects such as the sixteenth century Beyazıt Library, the Tarabya Hotel and Hayati Tabanlıoğlu’s Ataturk Cultural Center.

Mr. Tabanlıoğlu and his partner Melkan Gürsel Tabanlıoğlu received the MEA-Middle East Architect Award, Architect of the Year 2010. Mr. Tabanlıoğlu’s recent awards include International Property Awards, International Architecture Award Winner, Public Sector awards for the Tripoli Congress Center (2010) and the Astana Arena (2011); a RIBA International Award in 2011 for Loft Gardens; a WAF 2012 Transport Category Winner for Bodrum International Airport; and a Cityscape Global 2012 Community and Culture Category Winner for Astana Media Center. In 2013 Murat Tabanlioglu has been master jury member in the Aga Khan Prize

Is a practicing architect based in Istanbul and principal of the firm Mimarlar Tasarim Danismanlik Ltd that he established in 1986. Previously, he worked in Paris in the architectural studios of Ahmet Gulgonen and of Bernstein, Chempetier, Vidal. His built works include residential, commercial and institutional projects primarily in Turkey, as well as in the Netherlands, Japan, Canada, the United Kingdom and France. Mr. Tümertekin was trained in architecture at Istanbul Technical University. He lectured at the Technical University of Delft, at the 6th mAAN International Conference in Tokyo “Our Modern – Re-appropriating Asia’s Urban Heritage” as well as at Harvard. Mr. Tümertekin’s works have been widely published in international architectural journals, including Domus, Abitare, AV and in the World Atlas of Contemporary Architecture; Included in the 2006 Venice Biennale, he also won Turkey’s National Architecture Award in 1998 and 2000. A monograph of his recent work was published by Harvard University Press in 2006. Mr. Tümertekin has received several architectural prizes, including an Aga Khan Award for Architecture in 2004 for the B2 House in Ayvacık, Turkey He served on the 2007 Master Jury. Actually he is a member of the awards steering committee.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture (AKAA) is an architectural prize established by Aga Khan IV in 1977. It aims to identify and reward architectural concepts that successfully address the needs and aspirations of Islamic societies in the fields of contemporary design, social housing, community development and improvement, restoration, reuse and area conservation, as well as landscape design and improvement of the environment. It is presented in three-year cycles to multiple projects. Uniquely among architectural awards, it recognizes projects, teams, and stakeholders in addition to buildings and people.